First time buyer - parents mortgaging property? Liam12345

Hi all,

So I asked on here previously about my options as a first time buyer with earnings lower than necessary for a mortgage. I'll give you the situation below, hopefully it makes sense.

I am a student with a job lined up at around 23k per year. The salary is expected to rise quickly. My parents are looking to downsize and have around 300k equity in their current property, and have very kindly offered to help me achieve a deposit of around 40k. Now, I know my earnings are too low to get a mortgage on my own (property price 180k minimum), so I've been thinking of alternatives.

First, I wondered whether I could use my parents earnings as a guarantor, which would easily put me in the affordability threshold. It seems the only way to do this would be to have a mortgage with high interest rates, which I'm reluctant of doing.

Second, I've considered my parents being the owners of my property (and getting a mortgage on it themselves) - that way I would effectively pay them 'rent' to cover the mortgage costs. But would I be able to transfer that mortgage to me once my affordability was at a suitable level? I'm not sure how that works.

If anyone can provide any insight into these I'd greatly appreciate it - or if anyone has any alternatives. I can clear anything up if necessary.

Just a final note: I don't need to be told about the risks of mixing family and money etc, I'm aware of the risks and not concerned by it.

Hi Liam, a guarantor mortgage may be a good option for you, have a look at Barclays family affordability plan. The main thing to consider if your parents take the mortgage out for you is they would pay the stamp duty surcharge- 3% extra. Then when you want the mortgage in your name you would need to make a full mortgage application, may pay stamp duty and are likely to have valuation fees.