pension scheme for self employed (UK) TheLittleSaver

Hi everyone

I am 32 and live in UK, registered as self employed. I have been working here for around 4 years (so hopefully I won't be kicked out after Brexit), but like a stupid I never thought properly about pension until now! So I would like to start doing something about it, without wasting more precious time.

I did a research, I know there are mainly three types of pension scheme:

- Personal pensions

- Stakeholder pensions

- Self-invested personal pensions (SIPPs)

And now the state pension is open to self employed as well.

So, as far as I could understand, a SIPP might need too much "effort" and knowledge to do it properly, managing the risk, etc... so perhaps for my situation the choice would be between a personal pension and a Stakeholder pension?

Also, I think I could/should start a state pension too? Or should I just keep saving my money, as I am already doing (as I always thought "I can put some money in another account each month, rather than putting that money in a pension scheme")?

What can you suggest me?

I would really appreciate any kind of suggestions you could possible give me, as this is a new territory for me and got a bit lost in all choices.

Thank you very much!

Thanks @Horsin!

I will read that as soon as I can.. although I must say I am still a bit confused about all these different choices available... anyway

@xylophone

sorry I thought I answred, but for some reason the answer didn't get through. Yes, I have a NINo (got it as soon as I moved to UK). Why? Would that mean that I am paying for saome "basic" pension by paying taxes?

@ischofie1

yeah I was thinking about a personal pension... but I am reading about so many people not very HAPPY about those... so now I am not sure if a personal pension would be the way to go, or maybe some other kind of investmen? I am still confused.