Gilt Government Bond Question Inaam124

Hi, sorry if this has already been asked as I couldn't seem to find anything on it.

I am a economics student in my first year. We recently learned about bonds and I have been doing my own studying, however, I can't seem to find an answer to my question.

So, if I invested £100 into a gilt bond for 5 years for example that received a coupon of say £4. Let's says interest rates rose causing the bond to be worth less leading up to maturity. At the maturity date would i still recieve the £100 back even though the bond is worth less on a secondary market?

Thank you.

Hi, sorry if this has already been asked as I couldn't seem to find anything on it.

I am a economics student in my first year. We recently learned about bonds and I have been doing my own studying, however, I can't seem to find an answer to my question.

So, if I invested £100 into a gilt bond for 5 years for example that received a coupon of say £4. Let's says interest rates rose causing the bond to be worth less leading up to maturity. At the maturity date would i still recieve the £100 back even though the bond is worth less on a secondary market?

Thank you.
Originally posted by Inaam124

You would certainly receive the £100 back but your comment 'even though the bond is worth less on a secondary market' would not apply because as bonds approach maturity, open market values and face value converge.

Ah, thank you for that.

As a student who has saved up some money, would you recommend in investing in gilts? I would not be planning to sell them at any point before maturity?

As a student who has saved up some money, would you recommend in investing in gilts? I would not be planning to sell them at any point before maturity?

You are joking right? You have seen the YTM on offer, yes? As a consumer you have access to better rates on cash. Leave Gilts to those who are forced to buy them.

Thank you.