Worrying letter... Can Drydensfairfax take me to court for a 1996 Student Loan Debt? erikborgo

Hi, I've just received a very worrying letter from Drydensfairfax Solicitors telling me they will take me to court on behalf of Erudio if I don't contact them within a few days. Can they do this? The debt is from when I was a student in 1996, from The Student Loan Company. I haven't corresponded with The Student Loans Company since 2011. I asked for a complete breakdown of what they think I owe them using the Data Protection Act and the numbers they produced were incorrect! The amount owed was wrong in all their correspondence, it bore no relation to the numbers in the documentation they produced! I've paid, deferred, paid in alternate cycles over the years but according to them, I still seem to somehow owe them over £3000! I moved house. I am not on the eletoral roll at my new address and have never been - 4 years and counting - so can they actually take me to court given that there is no proof that I actually live here? Is being on the electoral roll necessary for the commencement of legal proceedings? Can they really take me to court or is this an exercise in evoking deep horror and distress? Also, I am now 49 years old, will this debt simply expire when I'm 50?

Yeah that's how it works, you can't take anyone to court over debts because they're not on the electoral register.

The old style loans are written off 25 years after graduation or when the borrower turns 50, whichever happens sooner so it's unlikely you'll need to concern yourself with this debt.