RBS Bank Charges on Charges nurseinwaiting

Hello, I hope some one can advise me please.

I am a 3rd year nursing student with 6 months left to go, So far I have managed my money very well, especially as I have 3 children and a home.

I have an ordinary RBS bank account with a £250 overdraft. I went over the overdraft limit by a small amount and did not have the money to pay into the account until approx 3 weeks later as my budget is extremely fixed.

I don't recall how I managed to go overdrawn by a small amount as the card should have been declined when I used it if there was not enough money in the account. I suspect it was the new system of touching the reader, but when I checked my balance I took into account the 'cleared' funds and spent the rest on home expenses. However, as my budget is fixed and so tight, I literally couldn't rectify this issue until the next bursary.

I was charged £90 in charges for this. Fair enough, My fault.

I am now being charged a further £90 in charges, Even though I bought the account back into credit before the above charges were put on the account approx 4-6 weeks after the event. They did send me notice but I did not have anything spare to cover this. This has repeated it's self this month.

So I am now £180 over the overdraft, of an account that was within the OD. I have rang up and offered to pay the original charges of £90 but they want me to pay the rest plus another set due to go on in the next week.

(I stopped using the account and never used it for DD anyway and my bursary goes into another account)

Can they charge me charges on charges??? This is snowballing now even though I got the account back into it's credit limit originally before the first batch of charges went on.

Hopefully someone can help. I have called them and offered to pay the first batch but they will not drop the rest, How far will it snowball now??? Does it just continue adding £90 a month??

Thanks