Account switching - a word of warning spikyone

I've just switched my main bank account to the Co-op's current account using their switch service, and thought I would warn of some potential problems. I will emphasise that these don't appear to have been caused by the bank, but rather by the other end of the direct debits.

I intentionally set my switch to happen in a quiet time of month with no payments due for a week, to minimise the risk of missing payments. I'm an engineer which makes me cautious with anything 'new' until it's proven, so I also made a note of the dates that all my DDs were due to leave the account. Last week I got confirmation from most of my providers that the DD details had been updated; all by Thursday 9th, which should have been in plenty of time for the next due date of Wednesday 15th. All direct debits were showing as set up correctly in my online banking too.

Yesterday (15th) I checked my bank account. My two energy accounts have both taken the DD - but not my mortgage company. Coincidentally my mortgage is with Platform, part of Co-op. I phoned them up, to be told that they hadn't received the information in time so had to set up the DD starting 15th March, and I should be getting a letter. Oh, and it was lucky I'd called. Needless to say, given the ability of other companies to confirm updated DD details last week, and the fact that my bank and my mortgage provider are the same company, I was not particularly impressed. Platform's customer service wasn't great either, with the insinuation that it was my fault they'd taken considerably longer than anyone else to update my details.